# MINUTES OF THE NUAA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

### 6:00pm, 8 December 2015

### Surry Hills Neighbourhood Centre, 405 Crown Street Surry Hills

### In attendance:

Board Members: Melanie Joyce (President): Robyn Maurice (Vice President); Leon Fernandes: (Treasurer); Julie Bates: Margaret McInroy (Ordinary Members) Mary Harrod (CEO)

Total attendance: 27 community members, CEO and sitting Board members

Apologies: Indraveer Chatterjee – Secretary, Geoff Missingham (Rural Member)

#### **1. Introduction and Welcome to Country**

Melanie Joyce introduced the meeting, and Aunty Donna Ingram. Aunty Donna addressed the AGM and provided a Welcome to Country.

### 2. CEOs Report

The CEO Mary Harrod provided the CEOs report which updated on the achievements of the organisation over the year.

### 3. Apologies

Indraveer Chatterjee was noted as an apology, and Leon Fernandes was appointed as Indraveer's proxy.

#### 4. Review Action from previous AGM

No action was noted from the previous AGM.

#### 5. Adopt Minutes from previous AGM

Margaret Moved the minutes be adopted, Leon seconded.

### 6. Chair's Report

Melanie Joyce provided the Chairs report which commended NUAA on the work achieved this year.

#### 7. Treasurer's Report

Leon Fernandes provided the Treasurer's Report, and introduced Alex Cowell from Purpose Accounting. Alex gave an update on NUAAs finances and confirmed that the organisation made a surplus this year, unlike years past, and kept to the budget. Leon Fernandes moved that the Treasurer's Report be adopted. Margaret McInroy seconded this motion. Leon Fernandes moved that Bryan Rush and Co. be appointed as the auditor in 2016. Margaret McInroy seconded this motion.

#### 8. Questions to Directors

There were no questions to directors at this time.

## 9. Proposed Resolution - Amendments to the Constitution

Melanie Joyce proposed a motion to accept the proposed resolution. Margaret McInroy moved this motion and Leon Fernandes seconded. The AGM held a vote; 24 members in favour and 1 opposed with the remainder of attendees not voting

# **10. Acceptance of Annual Report**

Melanie Joyce moved that the annual report be accepted. Margaret McInroy seconded.

# **11. Election of Directors**

The Returning Officer declared all board positions to be open. Andrew Trist, Julie Bates and Denys Vidic are all stepping down from the board. The voting process was conducted.

- 1. President Leon Fernandes was elected, moved by Melanie, seconded by Robyn M
- 2. Vice President Robyn Maurice was elected, moved by Leon F, seconded by Leah M.
- 3. Secretary Indraveer Chatterjee was elected, moved by Leon F, seconded by Julie B.
- 4. Treasurer Melanie Joyce was elected, moved by Robyn Maurice, seconded by Margaret M.
- 5. Ordinary Member Gary Gahan was elected, moved by Dominque, seconded by Leah M
- 6. Ordinary Member Steve Morgan was elected, moved by Megan S, seconded by Sarah A
- 7. Ordinary Member Chris Gough was elected, moved by Paul G, seconded by Fiona P
- 8. AIVL Delegate Aly Murray was elected, moved by Fiona P, seconded by Chris G
- 9. Rural Delegate Karen Stapleford was elected, moved by Robyn M, seconded by Hope E
- 10. Alternate Member Bradley Mathers was elected, moved by Leon F, seconded by Gary G

### 14. Hall of Fame

Julie Bates posthumously inducted John Berry into the Hall of Fame, and further inducted Alex Wodak into the Hall of Fame. Alex Wodak accepted his award and gave a speech on the need for drug law reform.

# **15. Meeting Closed**

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 9pm.