Hall of Fame

NUAA’s Hall of Fame, begun in 2011, recognises people who have done ground-breaking work in advancing the health, rights and dignity of people who use illicit drugs. Inductees are announced every year at the AGM and are awarded with a gold star and glass statue. Their names are added to a plaque held in the NUAA office.


Jenny Kelsal


Jenny was a long-time advocate for harm reduction and an activist for the rights and dignity of people who used drugs, who sadly passed away early in 2018. You can read a tribute to her great work here.


Lizzie Griggs (pictured middle), Matthew Toomey (pictured in middle below), Jeffrey Jackson


Lizzy, Matthew and the late Jeffrey were honoured for their role in running the trailblazing Albion Street AIDS outreach bus that was set up in the mid-1980s as world first. You read more about their work here.


Sione Crawford


Read an article written by Sione Crawford in User’s News.




Dr Alex Wodak


Read the piece Dr Alex Wodak wrote in User’s News issue 62 on NUAA’s 21st anniversary.




John Berry


Watch a video of John speaking about his work with NUAA.

Marion Watson






Alan Winchester


Read an obituary for Alan Winchester from User’s News issue 54 (page 7) in 2008.



Jude Byrne


Watch Jude talk about her drug user activism.


Julie Bates


Read this UN article about Julie’s involvement in the early days of NUAA.




Annie Madden


Watch Annie speaking at a High Level Meeting on AIDS in New York.