Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame

NUAA’s Hall of Fame, begun in 2011, recognises people who have done ground-breaking work in advancing the health, rights and dignity of people who use illicit drugs. Inductees are announced every year at the AGM and are awarded with a gold star and glass statue. Their names are added to a plaque held in the NUAA office.

Lizzie Griggs (pictured middle), Matthew Toomey (pictured in middle below), Jeffrey Jackson


Lizzy, Matthew and the late Jeffrey were honoured for their role in running the trailblazing Albion Street AIDS outreach bus that was set up in the mid-1980s as world first. You read more about their work here.


Sione Crawford


Read Article Written by Sione Crawford in User’s News [Speech by Sione ]


Dr Alex Wodak


Read what Dr Alex Wodak wrote in

User’s News Issue 62 on NUAA’s 21 Anniversary [happy anniversary]

John Berry


Watch a video of John speaking about his work with NUAA.

Marion Watson


Read this interview article with Marion.

Alan Winchester


Remembering Alan Winchester.


Jude Byrne


Read this User’s News article about the 2013 inductees and watch Jude talk about her drug user activism below.

Julie Bates


Read this UN article by Julie an this UN article about Julie’s involvement in the early days of NUAA.

Annie Madden


Read this presentation by Annie and watch Annie speaking at a High Level Meeting on AIDS in New York.